Round Three 2018-19

Our third internal competition took place on the 29th of November and in keeping with our previous rounds we had to reduce the number of entries allowed per person due to having far too many photographs submitted to make for comfortable judging in one evening. We are also pleased to announce that many of our new members entered too, bringing the total of different entrants to 17.

The event was divided into four separate DPI competitions; Colour, Monochrome, Nature and the theme of Speed. 

Our judge for the evening was Sue Hartley CPAGB and she tackled the unenviable job of commenting on our photographs with good humour and offered plenty of tips on how to improve our work, that were welcomed by all. Sue said that picking out the required number of images for the awards was difficult as there were so many contenders, she mentioned the nature section as being of particular high quality. 

We’d like to publicly thank Sue for doing an excellent job with such enthusiasm that left everyone in good spirits, even those who didn’t do quite as well as they hoped.

Colour Results

  • 1st Rob Cuss – First Light East Riding  
  • 2nd David Kissman – What a shot
  • 3rd Gavin Brand – Reflections 
  • Commended Tony Walker – A Taste of Honey
  • Commended Mark Kranich – Allt an Dunain over Loch Awe at Dawn
  • Commended Keith Donovan – Raindrops on the Gazania 
[ngg src=”galleries” ids=”12″ display=”basic_thumbnail”]

Monochrome Results

  • 1st Mark Kranich – The haunting faces of Auschwitz
  • 2nd Adrian Ilott – The Science Museum, Valencia
  • 3rd Rob Cuss – Heilan Coo
  • Commended Paul Burrows – Barn View 
  • Commended Paul Burrows – Looking Up or Looking Down
  • Commended Stephen Kelsall – Morecambe Bay
[ngg src=”galleries” ids=”13″ display=”basic_thumbnail”]

Nature Results 

  • 1st Rob Cuss – White Tailed Eagle Lunge 
  • 2nd Rob Cuss – Osprey and Catch
  • 3rd David Kissman – Columba palumbus, Woodpigeon  
  • Commended Tony Walker – Field mouse and the toadstool
  • Commended Stephen Kelsall – Greenbottle
  • Commended Tony Walker – Red deer in the bracken 
[ngg src=”galleries” ids=”14″ display=”basic_thumbnail”]

Speed Results

  • 1st Tony Walker – Faster than a speeding snail 
  • 2nd Adrian Ilott – Mono Skier
  • 3rd Mark Kranich – Faster than a speeding bullet 
  • Commended Paul Burrows – Making the Jump  
  • Commended Tony Walker – Speed deceives
  • Commended Mark Kranich – The 2890 is on time..!
[ngg src=”galleries” ids=”15″ display=”basic_thumbnail”]